Wednesday, 30 July 2008

The Baron Of Techno delves Back In The Box

International DJ and producer Dave Clarke, also known as "The Baron of Techno" (TM) has compiled and mixed the third installment of NRK's popular Back In The Box compilation series. Clarke follows on from Joey Negro and 'Little' Louie Vega's selections, and offers up a blistering selection of early house and acid tunes.

BACK IN THE BOX takes the World’s leading and longest serving DJ legends, and invites them to plunder deep into their collections to those old house records that rocked the party time and time again, records that have since been left dormant on the shelves, waiting for the right moment to be dusted off (and this is that moment!). Dave Clarke transports us back to the late 80s with a heady, sweaty, basement club mix of Chi-town house originals, heavy 909 drum workouts, sleazy vocals, brain scrambling 303 acid patterns and cold, moody synths. Whilst the industry celebrates 20 years of house music, many tracks on this compilation pre-date this with early productions from 1986/1987 coming from the likes of Farley Jackmaster Funk, Fast Eddie Smith, Mr. Lee, Master C&J and a superb early offering from Manchester's t-Coy (AKA Mike Pickering & co.) Underated classics from Foremost Poets, Julian Jonah, Blake Baxter and Pierre's Fantasy Club are mixed up in Clarke's inimitable fashion, and showcases some of his many roots and influences for the music that he has become world renowned for.

Dave Clarke has long been synonomous with the UK's techno scene, having set the foundations for modern techno music with his "Red" series in the early 90s, and with continued success with productions on labels such as Deconstruction and Skint. His electro inspried DJ sets have rocked many thousands across the globe, racking up an amazing gig-ography over the years and playing huge festivals and events. Dave Clarke also built up a great kinship with the late Uk radio legend, John Peel; the man who gave Clarke his well known moniker "The Baron Of Techno".

Dave Clarke's Back In The Box is released on October 6th 2008 on double CD (incl. bonus unmixed CD), digital album release and 12" vinyl samplers. Full tracklisting to be revealed shortly, check out some of the choice cuts included now though on the links below.

A Blackman, a Blackman and Another Blackman - I Believe

Foremost Poets - Reasons to be Dismal
Julian Jonah - Jealousy and Lies
Blake Baxter - When A Thought Becomes You
Ralphi Rosario - I Want You (Transcontinental Mix)

Thursday, 24 July 2008

Charles Webster Coast2Coast out 8th September

UK dance veteran, Charles Webster, compiles the latest Coast2Coast. A double mix treat for lovers of the deep techy sound, with tracks & mixes from Pepe Braddock, Roy Davis Jr, Henrick Schwarz and Chez Damier. Includes 6 brand new Webster remixes, exclusive to this comp.

Charles Webster is the UK based producer/DJ who has quietly and consistently poured out timeless music for three decades now. Uncompromising and committed to doing his own thing, a look across Webster’s CV throws up some very familiar names of which Webster is all responsible for; Presence feat. Shara Nelson (Massive Attack) made one of the 90s most defining house albums with “All Systems Gone”, Furry Phreaks, Love From San Francisco, his legendary (and recently re-released) album “Born On The 4th July”…..

Most recently, Charles Webster compiled & mixed for Defected In the House, and produced a mammoth compilation covering contemporary, influences and historical studio work to huge critical acclaim. Webster also provides the remix on the huge “Go That Deep” by NUfrequency feat. Shara Nelson, set for big things this Autumn.

CD01 concentrates on the contemporary house sound, with mesmerising deep house sounds from the likes of Henrick Schwarz, Pepe Braddock and DJ Koze. Webster also supplies a stunning six new remixes exclusively to this compilation. New versions of tracks by Justin Martin, NUfrequency ft. Shara Nelson and Atjazz as well as new versions of his own productions (Furry Phreaks), making his mix on CD01 extra special. A superb blend of vocals, shimmering deep-tech and organic electronics, the disc ends up on the classic “I’m Your Brother” produced by none other than Berlin’s Basic Channel.

Webster breaks out the classics on CD02, mixing up a great selection of oft-forgotten gems from artists like Larry Heard, Pal Joey, Chez Damier and Victor Simonelli (Groove Committee). The ultra-rare Moodyman remix of Amp Fiddler (under his Jan guise) gets a dusting off as well as does early 90’s cuts from Blake Baxter and Herbert, all sounding as fresh and relevant today as they did back them.

Charles Webster Coast2Coast is out on 8th September 2008 on NRK Music. Formats include double mixed CD and double unmixed CD.

CD01 (Mixed by Charles Webster)

01. Frankie Valentine - Zumbi (Henrick Schwarz Dub Mix)
02. DJ Koze - Cicily
03. Pépé Braddock - 4
04. Kemetic Just - Do You Remember (Charles Webster 2008 Remix)*
05. Justin Martin - Sad Piano (Charles Webster 2008 Remix)*
06. Furry Phreaks - Lament For A Dead Computer (Charles Webster 2008 Remix)*
07. Atjazz ft. Dawne B - Parallels (Charles Webster 2008 Remix)*
08. Roy Davis Jr. - Motion
09. NUfrequency ft. Shara Nelson - Go that Deep (Version Mix)*
10. Greg Gauthier & Tony L ft. Sabrynaah Pope - Someone For You (String Quartet Mix)
11. Furry Phreaks - Want Me Like Water (Charles Webster 2008 Remix)*
12. Ratcliffe - Back To The City
13. Round One - I'm Your Brother

*Exclusive Charles Webster remixes especially created for his Coast2Coast mix

CD02 (Mixed by Charles Webster)

01. Larry Heard - Missing You
02. Groove Committee - Just Play The Music
03. The Mighty Bop ft. Duncan Roy - Lady (Herbert's In The Air Dub)
04. Amp Fiddler - Superficial (Jan Mix)
05. Alex M - It Works
06. Pal Joey - Rat Race
07. Pal Joey - Party Time
08. Black Orchid - Trumpet King (Smooth Mix)
09. Chez Damier - Untitled
10. Family Of Few - Intervoles
11. Basic Bastard ft. Blake Baxter - Love Break