Wednesday, 30 September 2009

NRK's Nick Harris on his Lifetracks

NRK's Nick Harris is the subject of the Bristol based Byte Blogspot's Lifetracks series. Focussing on the various talent from the city, Lifetracks features a special "influences" mix, and an accompanying in depth interview with its subject.

For his mix, Nick delved deep into the tracks that influenced him and helped shape his long career in the dance music industry, drawing on significant tracks from the likes of The Clash, Dub Syndicate, Plastikman, St. Germain and Killing Joke.

You can read the full interview with Nick here, and also listen and download his special Lifetracks mix.

Steve Bug's "The Lab 02" out this week

This week sees the release of Steve Bug's "The Lab 02" mix compilation project. Already picking up rave music in the dance music press, Bug follows in the footsteps of Loco Dice by compiling and mixing for NRK's newest series.

The album is available as a mixed 2CD and also as highly popular unmixed 2CD, featuring selected tracks in their entirety. We have also issued three seperate 12" samplers for those that still play and cherish the vinyl format!

And so to The Lab, a double disc treat from Bug that does not disappoint. Over the two discs, Steve shows his depth of DJ style, encompassing more deeper house sounds on disc one, and heady “tech” flavoured grooves on disc two. Showcasing many “leaders of the new school”, from the likes of Motor City Drum Ensemble (MCDE), DJ Koze, Ben Klock, Audiofly, Markus Worgull and Chateau Flight, alongside established artists such as Peace Division, Cobblestone Jazz and Trentmoller, Bug dedicates this Lab mix to those house music producers with an edge and flair for innovative and futuristic sounds. Bug’s “The Lab” mix perhaps sets the trend away from the minimal-by-numbers music from the last couple of years, and pushes the sound to more interesting and deeper territories. The mixes are the sound of now, from the terraces of Ibiza to the beach parties of Croatia, from the underground clubs of Berlin to the sweat soaked warehouses of London and beyond.

Click on the tracks below for audio previews

CD01 (mixed by Steve Bug)
01. Nick Höeppner - Makeover
02. Kevin Griffiths – Cantona Kung Fu
03. Kai Alce feat. Azulu Phantom – Power Thru Pt 3 (Mush Remix)
04. Alex Flitsch & Audiofly – Long Way To Go
05. Rocco – Da Men (Dub)
06. Dplay – Huub Sand
07. Claire Ripley - Kismet
08. Henry L – The Other Day At The Basement (Marcus Worgull's Flugskompensator Dub)
09. David Durango – Perfect Day
10. Sideshow ft. Paul St. Hilaire – If Alone (Chateau Flight Remix)
11. Dan Berkson & James What - Cycles
12. Jay Tripwire – Save Each Other
13. Stl – Silent State
14. Nick Solé – Simple Things
15. Kiki – Good Voodoo

CD02 (mixed by Steve Bug)
01. Craig Smith & The Revenge - The Soul Part 2
02. Outmode - The Examiner (Tom Taylor Remix)
03. Blagger - Strange Behaviour (DJ Koze AKA Swahimi Remix)
04. Channel X - Ticket
05. Jay Tripwire presents 8 Channels - Control
06. Andrade - Fingers (Dirk Lamprecht Remix)
07. Ben Klock - Subzero
08. H.O.S.H. - Better And Sweet (Audiofly Remix)
09. Steve Bug - Swallowed Too Much Bass (feat. Paris The Black Fu) (Joris Voorn Remix)
10. Art Of Tones feat. Jaw - Call The Shots (Motor City Drum Ensemble Remix)
11. DOP - 36500 Days
12. Cobblestone Jazz - Traffic Jam
13. Peace Division - Eh Oh Um
14. Trentemøller Vs DJ Lab – Rauta (Girls Mix)
15. Re-Up - Inside Us
16. Newworldaquarium - Trespassers (Redshape Remix)

Steve Bug - The Lab 02 (2CD Mixed)
Steve Bug - The Lab 02 (2CD Unmixed)
Steve Bug - The Lab 02 (12" vinyl sampler 01)
Digital album on Beatport

Friday, 25 September 2009

Scope's "This Rhythm" out this week on Beatport

NRK breaks a long silence from the singles market this week, with the release of Scope's "This Rhythm". Available now on Beatport, and 12" vinyl (remember those things?), "This Rhythm" sees Belfast based Ric McClelland up the ante on the deep house sound, dragging some dramatic Detroit stylings to the proceedings, and featuring hypnotising vocals from Sandra Lima.

Remixes on this release come from Hamburg's Florian Kruse & Nils Nuernberg, and NRK headhoncho, Nick Harris. Both the remixes have been getting an airing recently from Mr. Richie Hawtin, and others to lend their support to the release include Doc Martin, Laurent Garnier, Jimpster, Osunlade and Ashley Beedle.

Purchase from Beatport
Read review
Scope's "Omoplata" (NRK148)

Friday, 18 September 2009

Hypnotising sounds from David Durango

David Durango, the Swiss based DJ/producer who has been making some rather tasty deep house sounds for the likes of Poker Flat, Dessous, Perspectiv and Resopal , releases a new EP on NRK in October.

Two tracks from David; "In The Last Orient" is a solid, boompety house cut, with a distinct far Eastern flavour with its vocal sample and instrumentation, this cut has a great groove with a nice seductive feel, whilst "Calle Azul" intricately builds into a great tech-funk workout. Remixes of these two great tracks come courtesy of Tony Lionni, and NRK's own Nick Harris. Tony Lionni is hotly tipped right now, what with recent releases on Ostgut Ton (his "Found A Place" cut being absolutley huge over the last few months), Mule and Wave, as well as forthcoming material for Freerange. Lionni's remix of "In The Last Orient" is deepness personified, with some cracking drums and warm production. Nick Harris also goes deeper with his remix of "Calle Azul", with a dubby and reverberating version.

Durango's debut release for NRK Music will get a limited vinyl release on 19th October, with digital downloads also available via Beatport, Juno, Traxsource and all the usual suspects.

In The Last Orient
In The Last Orient (Tony Lionni Remix)
Calle Azul
Calle Azul (Nick Harris Remix)